top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah McGough

Impact of Growth Mindset

In my career, technology integration has become so much more prevalent than it has been in past. I am a teacher and in my pre-k classroom, we use technology everyday. One goal I would have that relates to technology and my career would be that I want my students to be able to take charge of their digital learning as our district and society highly value those who are technological capable.

I feel as though I have had a primarily fixed mindset when it comes to this goal. It is my second year teaching and last year our use of technology in the classroom was minimal. This was part because I was unsure and insecure of myself in the classroom and part was because my kids at the time hated it, they felt like they weren't understanding it and it made them want to quit using the computers. However, as this year, with my new students, they LOVE the computers and our smartboard. This year, even when my kids are struggling with technology, they are still enjoying their learning and wanting to improve, which is all I can ask for. 

I think using videos and songs to promote the growth mindset is a great idea especially with my littles. Not only that but praising what deserves praise so that it builds the confidence in their minds that if they keep trying they can be successful. I think in the graphic shown, the WHY is the most important, because if we are not engaged or excited, then we won't be motivated to complete the tasks at hand. For example, on our chrome books, if the students are not engaged they will not learn and it could lead to idle hands, which in a pre-k class is very scary!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EdShelf - Tools for Education

If you are looking for tools to add to your digital toolbelt, EdShelf is the place for you. I found so many resources that we already use...

Comments


bottom of page