top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah McGough

Learning Revolution - EDLD 5313 D2

Education is not and should not be considered a one size fits all entity and so often that is how we look at it. In the TedTalk by Sir Ken Robinson, he compared our education system to fast food, without customization or modifications. This is not okay. I teach in an elementary classroom and I could see from meeting my students and knowing them for a very short period of time that they all learn so differently and at different paces. So why then are we forcing them to all learn the same thing the same way at the same time? I am thankful to be able to individualize some instruction for them through small groups and tutoring, but even so, we follow guidelines that instruct us on what all students have to know by the time they leave our rooms, I don't this is entirely obtainable. 

As far as the reward vs. punishment argument in the second video, I am a bit of both. For certain students, in certain situations, the carrot on the stick is successful and they work hard. However, like the video mentions, this doesn't always work and in fact it could get the completely wrong result. I think in this case you need to know your students, and what they are willing to work for and towards. I would prefer to only promote autonomy, mastery, and purpose in my learning environment, but right now this is where I am. This has influenced me in my learning philosophy and as I look back at my innovation plan I can see how I am leaning toward promoting more of the autonomy, mastery, and purpose into my classroom. 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EdShelf - Tools for Education

If you are looking for tools to add to your digital toolbelt, EdShelf is the place for you. I found so many resources that we already use...

Comentarios


bottom of page