top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah McGough

New Perspective on Learning - EDLD 5313 D1

I think in order for us to take on this new perspective on learning we need to be all on the same page. Someone recently said at a PD in our school that "We have been doing what we were taught and the new teachers coming in know different things and are trained differently so no one if fully on the same page." That really made a lot of sense when I thought about it, but in order for all of us to succeed together we need to collaborate and all be educated in order to do what is best for the students. I loved in the video when he talked about play. I teach elementary and out education system is trying to stray so far from play. It has become solely about the academics, which in turn is hurting the students in their social interactions.

I want my classroom to be a place where a lot of learning takes place, but I want that to start with my students and not be centered around what I can do, but what they can imagine and create. I think we as a whole in education are looking at pieces and not the entire environment, this could be why we aren't getting some results we would want from our students. I want to say I am being proactive, my team is creating a classroom space we can utilize to foster the students imagination and creativity outside of just academic work. A space where they can play and learn together with their peers. I really enjoyed the Ted Talk, so much so that I made my entire team/principals watch it as well. I think if we can all create a space, an environment that our students' passion and creativity can be fostered then we will be much better off!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EdShelf - Tools for Education

If you are looking for tools to add to your digital toolbelt, EdShelf is the place for you. I found so many resources that we already use...

Comments


bottom of page