top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah McGough

The COVA Approach

The idea of the COVA approach is so intriguing. In teaching, we want it to be more student centered learning instead of teachers just rambling all of the time. I think the COVA approach can really capitalize on that!

This approach can be beneficial in the DLL program because we have the opportunity to use so many different platforms to express our thoughts and finding, giving us choice, ownership, voice, and authenticity. 

I think something that could challenge me though is the concept of choice. Whenever I was in school previously we weren't given many choices. The teachers and professors wanted them in specific formats so they were easier to grade. In the video with Seth Godin, he talked about how we have different technologies now to assist with grading, so we can divert from the idea of only having one way to do things. I loved this because as a teacher now I can see how different students need different testing options. Not only that but since beginning this course and getting to choose my format of assignments I can really see how it is testing and challenging me in the best way! 

To me when reading about the COVA approach it was almost like a domino affect. You are given choices, then you can own them, thus given you voice and authenticity. I really enjoyed learning about this approach and how I can use it in my own life as well as my students. 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EdShelf - Tools for Education

If you are looking for tools to add to your digital toolbelt, EdShelf is the place for you. I found so many resources that we already use...

Comments


bottom of page